Buhari Fires JAMB Registrar, 16 Others

The federal government made a massive clear out in the education sector.It was announced that the chief executive officers of 17 agencies under the ministry of education was fired.

And they were ordered to leave their offices by the heads of parastatal with immediate effect as their replacements were also announced.

One of the affected agencies was the of the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) which was headed by Professor Dibu Ojerinde as Registrar. Oderinde has now been replaced by Professor Ishaq Oloyede, a former vice-chancellor of the University of Ilorin.

The statement which was issued by the ministry of education concerning the massive shake-up in that ministry was approved by President Muhammadu Buhari, also listed other affected agencies like the Universal Basic Education Commission (UBEC), and the National Universities Commission (NUC).

Others are the National Library of Nigeria, the National Examinations Council (NECO) and the Nomadic Education Commission (NEC), among others.

The other appointees, according to the statement obtained are: Prof. Abubakar Rasheed, NUC; Dr. Hameed Bobboyi, UBEC; Prof. Charles Uwakwe, NECO; Prof. Lilian Salami, Nigerian Institute for Education Planning and Administration; and Prof. Lanre Aina, National Library of Nigeria.

More appointees in the education sector are: Prof. Abba Haladu, National Commission for Mass Literacy, Adult and Non-Formal Education; Prof. Bashir Usman, Nomadic Education Commission and Prof. Isioma Isiugo-Abanihe, National Business and Technical Examinations Board.

Others are Prof. Sunday Ajiboye, Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria; Afolabi Aderinto, Computer Registration Council of Nigeria; Prof. Bappah Aliyu, the National Commission for Colleges of Education; Dr. Abdullahi Baffa, Tertiary Education Trust Fund and Prof. Garba Dahuwa Azare, National Teachers Institute.

Prof Michael Afolabi Was also the new head of the Librarian Registration Council of Nigeria; Prof Steven Ejugwu Onah, National Mathematical Centre; and Prof. Chinyere Ohiri-Aniche, National Institute of Nigerian Languages.

President Buhari however retained some chief executives in the education sector. They include, Prof. Samaila Junaidu, Nigeria Educational Research and Development Council; Prof. Rauf Adebisi, Nigerian French Language Village; Dr. Mas’ud Kazaure, National Board for Technical Education; and Prof. Muhammad Mu’az, National Arabic Language Village.

Post a Comment

Disclaimer: Everyone is entitle to his/her own opinion. However, GistLocker will not be held responsible for any comment therein as they are of the writer.

Gist Locker

{facebook#http://facebook.com/gistlockertv} {twitter#https://twitter.com/gistlockertv} {google-plus#https://plus.google.com/u/0/118245743773478077269} {pinterest#http://pinterest.com/gistlocker} {youtube#http://youtube.com/gistlockertv} {instagram#https://instagram.com/gistlockertv}

Contact Form


Email *

Message *

Powered by Blogger.
Javascript DisablePlease Enable Javascript To See All Widget